Rugby League

History-Makers: Infantry Crowned Army Rugby League Champions For First Time

The Infantry were crowned champions for the first time after an exhilarating second half comeback to lift the Lawson Cup.

The Infantry have been crowned Army Rugby League champions for the first time after a thrilling win over the Royal Electrical and Mechanical Engineers (REME) in the Lawson Cup final.

They defeated defending champions REME 42-16 at the Army Rugby Stadium in Aldershot, Hampshire, to take them to the top of the Army Rugby League mountain.

REME made the stronger start in the match as Jonasa Tabua dotted down to give them an early lead.

Petero Canakaivata levelled it up for the Infantry but the tries kept coming as Peeta Moku gave REME a 10-4 lead.

Alex Greenwood MacDonald was next on the scoresheet after an Infantry mistake as the REME started to pull away.

However, Canakaivata scored again and team captain Dan Pickles drove over the line to bring the Infantry back into the game.

They would go into half-time 10 points behind as another defensive mistake allowed Moku to crash over the line again for REME.

But the exciting final took a new twist in the second period as Aporosa Bainikoro's try and Canakaivata's hat-trick swung the match back into the Infantry's favour.

The flying winger ended up with four tries as the never-before champions didn't look back.

Uruia Uluvesi grabbed a late double as the Infantry ran out comfortable winners with a strong second half performance.

"It has been a long time coming," said Pickles.

"A lot of hard work and a lot of backroom staff putting in the hours.

"We always knew we had the raw talent but it was just getting all the blokes together and getting them in one place at one time.

"I think it has shown this year."