Royal Navy Sports Awards 2019: The Winners

The Royal Navy have held their 2019 Sports Awards at Lord's Cricket Ground.

Fiji rugby union international Sam Matavesi has been named the Sportsman of the Year.

Matavesi represented his country at the World Cup in Japan and played for the Navy at Twickenham in March.

Sportswoman of the Year went to golfer Lauren Hulston who has won the Navy's individual title nine times in her career.

She is the current Navy women's captain and will lead the team in Inter Services competition.

Boxer Sophie Colbourn won the Young Sportsperson of the Year award.

She is considered by many as one of the brightest stars in military boxing and won a bronze medal at a national competition in the summer.

It was the Offshore Sailing crew who won the Team of the Year accolade.

They successfully defended their Inter Services crown and their all-female team achieved a third-placed finish in the National Open Keelboat Championships.

The Official of the Year is Football League referee Scott Jackson.

He has officiated in the FA Cup as well as being a fourth official in the Championship.

There were also three special awards given out on the night.

Scott Makepeace Navy Sports Awards Credit Alligin Photography 06122019.jpg
The personnel in attendance enjoyed a Christmas feast including Navy Rugby Captain Scott Makepeace. (Picture: Alligin Photography)

John Jackson recently received his Olympic bronze medal that he won at the Sochi 2014 Games and the Bobsleigh star was given his moment at the Navy Sports Awards.

The second special award went to Brian 'BJ' Smith.

He has been involved with Navy cricket for six years and has served as coach for the women's team as well as Navy cricket treasurer.

BJ Petty was given the final special award after winning 20 Inter Services titles in his 18-year spell with Navy Hockey.

He also won five Inter-Region tournaments as manager of the Royal Marines.