Army duo reign supreme at BFBS Snowboard Cross event

WATCH: Army's Chris Marshall wins men's BFBS Snowboard Cross

The 2023 BFBS Snowboard Cross event saw two British Army athletes win individual prizes in Meribel.

Staff Sergeant Chris Marshall was the winner of the men's race with the RAF's Flying Officer Chris Harrington and the Navy's Petty Officer Curtis Gayle in second and third.

Meanwhile, the women's race saw Lance Bombardier Jordan Buckley take the gold medal with Navy duo Petty Officer Aaby Aldridge (silver) and Able Seaman Jasmine Maunder (bronze) rounding out the podium.

The men's competition was very nearly scuppered by a starting gate malfunction as the final four had to race twice but it was SSgt Marshall who finished first.

There was also an early crash landing for one snowboarder but he managed to regain his composure and continue.

Despite two Army snowboarders taking the individual prizes, the women's and men's team prizes were both won by the Royal Navy.

Watch: Lance Bombardier Jordan Buckley holds off Navy snowboarding challenge to win

There were two other Meribel events on the day with the Alpine Giant Slalom and the Telemark Sprint taking place.

The women's Alpine Giant Slalom saw another win for the RAF's Flying Officer Kirsty Guest, who won the first event on Sunday.

The men's race saw the Navy's Able Seaman Graeme Price pip the Army's Lieutenant Joshua Serdet to top spot.

The women's Telemark Sprint was a second win in as many days for RAF skier Squadron Leader Clare Thomas while the men's race was another Navy win from Lieutenant James French.

History was made in the women's Telemark race as for the first time, all three services were represented.

Full podiums:

Alpine Giant Slalom women's:

  1. Flying Officer Kirsty Guest (RAF)
  2. Major Tessa Pirie (British Army)
  3. Lieutenant Lilias Hopkinson (Royal Navy)

Alpine Giant Slalom men's:

  1. Able Seaman Graeme Price (Royal Navy)
  2. Lieutenant Josh Serdet (British Army)
  3. Lieutenant James French (Royal Navy)

Telemark Sprint women's:

  1. Squadron Leader Clare Thomas (RAF)
  2. Flight Lieutenant Sarah Shave (RAF)
  3. Medical Assistant Tezney Murphy (Royal Navy)

Telemark Sprint men's:

  1. Lieutenant James French (Royal Navy) 
  2. Captain Stefan Hurst (British Army)
  3. Air Engineering Technician Matt Deane (Royal Navy)

Join Our Newsletter


Veteran Adam Diver plunges into Guinness World Records with 46-mile swim

Hero ex-Gurkha reveals what kept him going as oxygen ran down on Everest

Military community marks Scottish War Memorial and D-Day anniversary