Invictus Tattoos Credit BFBS 261018
Invictus Games

What Is The Invictus Games?

The fifth edition of the competition takes place this year in the Netherlands.

Invictus Tattoos Credit BFBS 261018

The sixth edition of the Invictus Games will take place in the German city of Dusseldorf in 2023, after originally being set for the previous year.

The fifth tournament is being held in The Hague in the Netherlands next year, after the coronavirus pandemic led to it being moved forward from 2020.

The Invictus Games is an international multi-sport event launched in 2014 by the Duke of Sussex after taking inspiration from the 2013 Warrior Games.

The adaptive event is aimed at wounded, injured or sick Armed Forces personnel and veterans, and it takes the name from the Latin word 'Invictus'meaning 'unconquered' or 'undefeated'.

Where have the Invictus Games been held so far?

The first Invictus Games took place in 2014 at the Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park in London, followed by the second event at the ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex in Orlando, Florida in 2016.

The third games were held just over a year later, in September 2017 in Toronto, Canada, and was the setting for Prince Harry and his then-girlfriend Meghan's first public appearance together as a couple.

In 2018, Sydney, Australia hosted the competition, with the fifth installment taking place in May this year in the Dutch city of The Hague.

The location for the sixth Invictus Games will be Dusseldorf, Germany.

Which nations participate?

After 13 participating countries in 2014, there will be 20 countries taking part in the 2021 Invictus Games.

South Korea is most recent nation to join the Invictus Games Foundation and will appear in next year's competition.

The full list of competing countries:

  • Afghanistan
  • Australia
  • Belgium
  • Canada
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Iraq
  • Italy
  • Jordan
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Poland
  • Romania
  • South Korea
  • Ukraine
  • United Kingdom
  • United States
The third edition of the competition was held in Canada (Picture: US Department of Defense).

What sports can participants compete in?

Veterans and wounded, injured or sick serving personnel can take part in ten events at the Invictus Games.

The sports are:

  • Archery
  • Athletics
  • Indoor rowing
  • Jaguar Land Rover driving challenge
  • Powerlifting
  • Road cycling
  • Sitting volleyball
  • Swimming
  • Wheelchair basketball
  • Wheelchair rugby

Who is eligible to be part of Team UK at the Invictus Games?

The Invictus Games eligibility criteria laid out by the Invictus Games Foundation say that: "The Invictus Games are open to Wounded, Ill and Injured participants from all branches of the regular or reserve Armed Forces of participating nations who have become wounded, ill or injured during or as a direct consequence of their service."

However, to become part of Team UK at the Invictus Games and be considered for selection, applicants need to take action and complete eligibility checks.


To apply veterans need to complete the Veteran's Eligibility Form ahead of attending their first Invictus Games training camp.

They will need to attach documentation that can confirm both proof of service and their injury or condition, such as a medical discharge letter or a letter from a medical professional stating the condition or injury, and that was caused ruing or as a result of service.

Serving Personnel

To apply serving personnel need to complete the Serving Eligibility Form ahead of attending their first Invictus Games training camp.

Table A of the form will need to be completed by the applicant. The document will then need to be passed on to those in their Chain of Command who are involved in the applicant's recovery pathway. They should complete the remainder of the form and include a verified unit stamp.

The Team UK squad for the next competition was confirmed last October and can be viewed in full here.