T20: Mixed Fortunes For Army Ladies Cricketers In Police Double Header

After a comfortable Army win against the British Police, a much-changed side for the military team lost in the second game of the day.

The British Army ladies cricket team had mixed results from a T20 double header against the British Police at the Army Cricket Ground in Aldershot.

The first match saw the military players limit their opponents to just 89 runs, giving them a comfortable target to chase for the win.

After the six-wicket victory, the Army gave some development players a chance to gain experience and were bowled all out for only 46 runs in defeat.

The first match was a success for the Army's bowlers and fielders with Abbie Sullivan impressing.

She grabbed two wickets from four overs and only conceded 10 runs in her time with the ball.

Georgina Deane managed to get another wicket for the Army as the Police only scored 89 runs from the 20 overs.

The Army knew their target with the bat at the opening partnership of Georgina Cant and G Clark racked up 54 runs before their first wicket fell.

Lorna Jack's delivery was swept into the air by Cant and Erica Turner was there to get the catch with Cant out for 20 runs from 25 balls.

Clark continued to impress though and by the time she fell for a fantastic 38 runs from 37 balls, the Army just needed 12 runs to win.

Team captain Amanda Potgeiter delivered the winning score, sealing a good start to the day for the ladies in red.

However, the second game was chosen as a chance to experiment for the Army.

Only opener Georgina Deane managed to reach double figures with her score of 13 runs, as the military side were bowled all out for just 46.

It would need an incredible fielding performance for the Army to pull out a win from there but the Police batswomen were in full control.

Sian Phillips hit 31 runs off 26 balls while Victoria Mitchell managed to retire with a score of nine.

Erica Turner joined Phillips at the crease for the final over as the Police reached 47 runs to win by 10 wickets.

Cover image: Army Cricket Association.