Army Sports Awards 2017

Army Sports Awards 2018: When, Where, Who?

It's been an impressive year for the British Army’s sportsmen and sportswomen and the teams, leaders and coaches who helped them to glory.

Army Sports Awards 2017

The Army Sports Awards take place at Sandhurst on Tuesday evening, and you'll be able to follow the evening right here on

This is the centenary year of the Army Sport Control Board and what better way to mark 100 years than to honour those who have excelled as individuals or as members of outstanding teams over the past 12 months.

There are multiple categories, so here's a look at some of the contenders in the run-up to the big event.

Sports Team Of The Year

  • Ice Hockey
  • Army Female Cross Country and Road Race Team
  • Triathlon (Male Senior Team)

Sportswoman Of The Year

  • LCpl Fern Davies - Netball
  • Capt Jennifer Kehoe - Para Skiing
  • Gnr Karris Artingstall - Boxing

Sportsman Of The Year

  • LCpl Chez Nihell - Boxing
  • Sgt Mark Robertson - Cycling
  • Sgt Sam Gowin - Shooting

Rising Star

  • Pte Sophie Bladek - Taekwondo
  • Spr Euan Kick - Alpine Skiing
  • Gnr Tori Ellis Willetts - Boxing

Official Of The Year

  • WO2 Alex Rennie - Cricket
  • WO2 Ian Lester - Basketbal
  • Major Nicola Rush - Equitation

Get the BFBS App

You can listen to all of Forces Radio BFBS' stations and streams anywhere, anytime using our app for Apple or Android mobile devices.
Get it on Google Play