Image ID BKF86W Number 10 Downing Street door 251010 CREDIT, Alamy Stock Photo
Picture: Stock Photo.

Who's still in the running to replace Boris Johnson?

Image ID BKF86W Number 10 Downing Street door 251010 CREDIT, Alamy Stock Photo
Picture: Stock Photo.

Boris Johnson announced he will resign as Prime Minister and Leader of the Conservative Party.

Following the announcement on 7 July, a number of MPs threw their hats in the ring for the position at Number 10.

Royal Navy reservist Penny Mordaunt has been eliminated in the final round, sending former Chancellor Rishi Sunak and Liz Truss through to the final vote.

Rishi Sunak

The Member of Parliament for Richmond (Yorks) resigned as Chancellor of the Exchequer, sparking the wave of resignations that were handed to Mr Johnson last week.

With the campaign name "Ready for Rishi", he is currently the bookmakers' favourite to take over as PM.

Liz Truss

Foreign Secretary Liz Truss is also standing to replace Mr Johnson.

She is one of the ministers who did not hand in their resignation.

The MP for South West Norfolk is campaigning with the slogan "Liz for Leader".

Who is out of the running?

Royal Navy reservist and former Defence Secretary Penny Mordaunt was knocked out of the running in the last vote on Wednesday, bringing it down to a final two.

Kemi Badenoch was eliminated after the vote on Tuesday.

Former Army Intelligence Corps officer Tom Tugendhat was eliminated from the leadership race after finishing last in the third-round ballot on Monday with only 32 votes.

Suella Braverman was out of the race after finishing last in the second round of voting with 27 votes against a required 30.

Both Jeremy Hunt and Nadhim Zahawi were knocked out of the race in the first round of votes.

To go through to the next round of voting successful candidates required 30 votes.

Mr Hunt secured just 18 votes in the ballot, while Mr Zahawi – who sensationally turned on Boris Johnson less than 48 hours into his job as Chancellor – received 25.

Former Health Secretary Sajid Javid and Gillingham MP Rehman Chishti both pulled out of the race before the first round of the selection process.