Anon troops

Military Heroes Recognised In 2019 New Year Honours List

The 2019 New Year Honours list has been announced, with many members of the military receiving recognition.

Anon troops

Members of the Army, RAF and Royal Navy have all been honoured (Picture: PA).

The New Year Honours list has been announced with a number of military personnel being recognised for their service.

One hundred and eighteen personnel from across the tri-services are included in the list of honours from Her Majesty the Queen.

The Chief of the General Staff, General Mark Carleton-Smith has been given a knighthood, with Vice Admiral Clive Johnstone, Commander, Allied Maritime Command, also being knighted.

The oldest from the forces world to be honoured is 100-year-old World War Two veteran Robert Lingwood, who has been given a British Empire Medal for services to the community in County Tyrone.

Diver Lance Corporal Connor Roe has been awarded an MBE for his role in the rescue of a football team and their coach from a cave in Thailand.

LCpl Roe was among those invited to a Buckingham Palace reception in October in celebration of the role played by the rescuers, who were also hailed as "great heroes" by the Prime Minister during a Downing Street reception in July.

Wing Commander Mark Donald Abrahams has been awarded an OBE for his dedication to the RAF's lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender society.

His efforts are said to have helped create a more inclusive environment for the LGBT community.

Wg Cdr Abrahams said he was "humbled to be awarded" but added: "This award is also huge recognition for past and present members of the RAF LGBT+ Freedom Network."

Defence Secretary Gavin Williamson said: "Today we get a chance to reflect on the hard work and courage demonstrated by our service personnel.

"They have gone above and beyond the call of duty to serve our country and their dedication has been unwavering.

“The variety of those being honoured reflects the exceptional achievements of our armed forces.

"It is only right that we recognise those who have demonstrated exceptional skill, bravery and courage."