RAF Elvington was completely rebuilt with three hardened runways in 1942 (Picture: Yorkshire Air Museum/Neill Watson).
As part of celebrations to mark the centenary of the Royal Air Force, we have been taking a look at how some old RAF bases are being used today, after being closed following the end of the Second World War.
Just outside the city of York is RAF Elvington.
Once home to the allied bomber crews, it is now the site of the Yorkshire Air Museum.
During the Second World War, Elvington's control tower was the nerve centre of the base and today it remains part of the museum.
In early 1944, 77 Squadron moved to the newly opened airfield at Full Sutton and Elvington became host to two French Air Force Squadrons operating within No. 4 Group: No. 346 and No. 347.
In October 1945, the French Squadrons left for Bordeaux and Elvington became part of 40 Group Maintenance Command until 1952, when it became part of the expansion programme for US Strategic Air Command.
The runway was lengthened to 1.92 miles, one of the longest in Britain, but with the advent of submarine-launched 'Polaris' nuclear missiles the base never became operational and it was vacated in 1958.
In the present day, the museum acts as a memorial to those killed during the Second World War and provides a rare opportunity to experience a museum set in the very place It commemorates it.